Posted by: bobcville | May 21, 2011

Lost at Sea – C1

Rainbow in the Morning

The ship isn’t lost, but I was feeling a little lost today, just trying to settle into shipboard life and figure out what to do to fill the time.   After waking up to a rainbow in the sky, Stephanie went to do yoga, while I had breakfast.   Then she went to the “intro” Spanish class, where apparently the instructor had the students pair-off and practice talking to each other in Spanish, but if they could talk to each other in Spanish they wouldn’t need an intro level class.

Passing Rainstorm in the Afternoon

We went to a History of the Caribbean lecture class that’s primarily for the Lifelong Learners, but which did contain interesting information.  Later after lunch, while Stephanie was teaching her class, I went to the gym, and tried out one of the elliptical machines.  As I was clicking through the menu, and getting the machine started, at one point it asked for the desired program duration, and I thought “I’ll just do an hour”, but as I tried to increase the time, it beeped that 30 minutes was the maximum program time.  So then I thought “I’ll do the half hour and then either set it for another half hour, or move to another machine.”  As if.

I did manage to finish the program, but by the end it felt like a machine-assisted death march.  The program ended and then blinked over to a 5-minute cool down. I managed only about 2 minutes of cool down, before I gave up, stopped and stepped-off on wobbly, rubbery legs and tried to keep from falling down while I wiped down the machine (and the floor around it.)

Sunset on the First Day At Sea

I rested and read much of the rest of the day until dinner, and then watched the sunset before going to a Merchant Ivory movie named “The Mystic Masseur”, set during the late colonial era in Trinidad & Tobago about the life of a Indian-Trinidadian who is a frustrated writer, who sets up shop as a masseur to support himself.  He gains a reputation as mystic and proceeds into political life becoming member of the Trinidad Legislative Assembly.  It was unclear to me whether the character is actually supposed to have been a real person from Trinidad history or not.

 


Responses

  1. Bob you always have me laughing wheather hear at home or now on board. n HOUR of eliptycal too funny NOT.

    Great picture.
    Trying to get Muffin up on you blog but she is having a time of it. Hopefully she will have it before you get home.


Leave a comment

Categories